Communicable and Infectious Disease Steering Committee Members

Federal Co-Chair

Dr. Theresa Tam
Deputy Chief Public Health Officer of Canada and Assistant Deputy Minister
Infectious Disease Prevention and Control Branch
Public Health Agency of Canada
130 Colonnade Road
Ottawa, ON K1A 0K9

Tel: 613-957-0316
Fax: 613-948-7783

Provincial/Territorial Co-Chair

Dr. Horacio Arruda
Director of Protection of Public Health
Ministry of Health and Social
Services of Quebec
1075, chemin Sainte-Foy, 12th Floor
Québec, Québec G1S 2M1

Tel: 418-266-6720
Fax: 418-266-6707


Ms. Cathy Stannard
Community Health Programs
Health and Social Services
305 Jarvis St. 2nd Floor
Whitehorse, YT Y1A 2H3

Tel: 867-667-3003

Northwest Territories

Mr. Colin Eddie
Manager, Communicable Disease Control Unit
Health and Social Services
5022 49th Street Box 1320, CST-6
Yellowknife, NT X1A 2L9

Tel: 867-920-3293
Fax: 867-873-0442


Ms. Carolina Palacios
Communicable Disease Consultant
Department of Health and Social Services
Government of Nunavut
P.O. Box 1000, Station 1034
Iqaluit, Nunavut X04 0H0

Tel: 867-975-5734
Fax: 867-975-5755

British Columbia

Dr. Monika Naus
Medical Director, Immunization Programs and Vaccine Preventable Diseases Service
B.C. Centre for Disease Control
655 West 12th Avenue
Vancouver, V5Z 4R4

Tel: 604-707-2540
Fax: 604-707-2515


Dr. Martin Lavoie
Deputy Chief Medical Officer of Health
Office of the Chief Medical Officer of Health
Alberta Health and Wellness
10025 Jasper Avenue NW
P.O. Box 1360 STN Main
Edmonton, AB T5J 2N3

Tel: 780-427-5263
Fax: 780-427-7683


Dr. Denise Werker
Deputy Chief Medical Health Officer
Saskatchewan Ministry of Health
3475 Albert Street
Regina, SK S4S 6X6

Tel: 306-787-3235
Fax: 306-787-3237


Dr. Richard Rusk
Chief Occupational Medical Officer
Medical Officer of Health Zoonotics and Enterics
Manitoba Health, Healthy Living & Seniors
4059 - 300 Carlton St.
Winnipeg MB R3B 3M9

Tel: 204-788-6757
Fax: 204-948-2040


Dr. Erika Bontovics
Infectious Diseases Policy and Programs Section
Public Health Policy and Programs Branch
Population and Public Health Division
Ministry of Health and Long-Term Care
393 University Ave. 21st Floor
Toronto, ON M7A 2S1

Tel: 416-327-7418
Fax: 416-327-7439


To be confirmed

New Brunswick

Ms. Shelley Landsburg
Director, CDC Branch, Province of New Brunswick
520 King Street
Fredericton, NB E3B 5G8

Tel: 506-444-2706
Fax: 506-453-8702

Nova Scotia

Ms. Elaine Holmes
Director of Communicable Disease Prevention and Control
1894 Barrington St.
3rd Floor Barrington Tower P.O. Box 488
Halifax, NS B3J 2R8

Tel: 902-424-1748
Fax: 902-428-3313

Newfoundland and Labrador

To be confirmed

Prince Edward Island

Dr. Heather Morrison
Chief Public Health Officer
Department of Health and Wellness
16 Fitzroy St. P.O. Box 2000
2nd Floor, Sullivan Building Charlottetown, PEI  C1A 7N8

Tel: 902-368-4996
Fax: 902-620-3354


Dr. Howard Njoo
Associate Chief Public Health Officer
Public Health Agency of Canada
100 Colonnade Road
Ottawa, Ontario  K1A 0K9

Tel: 613-960-1940